Monday, April 12, 2010

Six-Time Grammy Nominated Vocalist Nnenna Freelon Returns with Her Seventh Concord Jazz Release "Homefree"

Concord Jazz is proud to announce the release of Homefree, the newest album from esteemed jazz vocalist and multi-Grammy® nominee Nnenna Freelon. Homefree marks Freelon’s seventh Concord Jazz album as a leader and first studio outing since 2005. The 11-track collection was recorded at Sound Pure Studios in Durham, North Carolina and will be available everywhere April 20, 2010.

Homefree is a soulful, swinging album that Freelon calls her “home brew.” The collection is comprised largely of contemporary interpretations of classic American Songbook tunes as well as a new original (the witty, playful and poignant “Cell Phone Blues” composed by the singer) and spirited arrangements of two anthems (the gospel treasure “Lift Every Voice and Sing” and the national hymn “America the Beautiful”) that close the album.

"Freelon makes each song such a personal statement that they all seem fresh and new..."
- USA Today

[WMP Streams]
The Very Though Of You
The Lamp Is Low

Track listing:
1. The Lamp Is Low 4:55)
2. I Feel Pretty (5:36)
3. The Very Thought of You (6:01)
4. Theme from Valley of the Dolls (4:59)
5. Smile (4:13)
6. You and the Night and the Music (4:37)
7. Cell Phone Blues (4:38)
8. Get Out of Town (4:19)
9. Skylark (5:15)
10. Lift Every Voice and Sing (4:37)
11. America the Beautiful (2:52)

Search Music for Nnenna Freelon
Best selling smooth jazz at
Jazz from

Bookmark and Share

No comments: