Friday, May 25, 2007

ASCAP Foundation Honors Giants Of The Past

Three living legends will also be inducted

ASCAP president and chairman Marilyn Bergman announces that ASCAP will add six music greats to the ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame on Friday, June 1, 2007, 7:30-9:45 p.m. Ms. Bergman will host the invitation-only event, which will be held for the first time in the Allen Room, Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center in Manhattan.

The event will be highlighted by the induction of three ASCAP Jazz Living Legends: drummer Louie Bellson, pianist/vocalist Dave Frishberg and vibraphonist Terry Gibbs. The latest group of inductees also includes three posthumous honorees: violinist Stephane Grappelli, pianist/composer James P. Johnson and guitarist Django Reinhardt.

Participating in the event as presenters and/or performers will be Louie Bellson, Dave Frishberg, Terry Gibbs, Rufus Reid, Gene Bertoncini, Eric Reed, John Clayton, Joseph Alessi and Aaron Weinstein.

In addition, emergent and critically acclaimed trombonist/composer Wycliffe Gordon will be presented with the ASCAP Foundation Vanguard Award for his innovative musical activity as a composer, instrumentalist, performer and educator in the field of jazz.


Best selling smooth jazz at
Jazz from

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

No comments: