Thursday, October 23, 2008

Jacqui Naylor - "You Don't Know Jacq" In stores: November 4, 2008

You Don't Know Jacq is Jacqui Naylor's seventh recording and highlights new arrangements of the most requested songs from her earlier recordings plus new original music. On this recording, Jacqui showcases her signature "acoustic smashing" technique, singing jazz standards over rock classics or vice versa, like The Gershwins' "Summertime" over The Allman Brothers' "Whipping Post" or Rodgers & Hart's "My Funny Valentine" over AC/DC's "Back in Black." Her covers of the new classics are equally represented here with a bossa nova take on REM's "Losing My Religion," a gospel-flavored version of The Bee Gees' disco-era ballad "How Deep is Your Love," and a Jamaican-infused dance interpretation of The Rolling Stones' "Miss You." Of course, no Jacqui Naylor album would be complete without showing her jazz chops; here she revisits the Bill Barnes classic "Something Cool" from her very first CD and writes a swing tune called "This Is The Spot" as a "thank you" to jazz radio stations across the country. Other strong new originals on this recording include the beautiful first single "Celebrate Early and Often," the optimistic "Dreamin' Big With You," and "Rise Up," which was written to inspire people to vote and is currently featured on YouTube and the Obama/Biden website.

Rise Up from the "You Don't Know Jacq CD

Naylor and her band will tour nationwide and internationally in support of You Don't Know Jacq. One highlight is her upcoming hometown performance at San Francisco's famed Herbst Theatre on Friday, November 21, 2008.

You Don't Know Jacq track listing:

01. How Deep Is Your Love
02. Summertime
03. Celebrate Early and Often
04. Losing My Religion
05. Black Coffee
06. Dreamin' Big With You
07. Thank You Baby
08. Tell Me More and More and Then Some
09. Miss You
10. This Is The Spot
11. Something Cool
12. Shelter
13. Rise Up
14. My Funny Valentine
15. Ain't No Sunshine
16. City By The Bay

Find more Jacqui Naylor CDs on

Best selling smooth jazz at
Jazz from

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

No comments: